CMMI Institute


CMMI Certified Individuals understand what it takes to get measurable results through the adoption of CMMI practices. Get started on your own improvement path today!

How it Works

  1. Select your Certification Program

    ISACA offers four different CMMI certifications, with various specialization add-on options for each.

    Discover which certification matches your professional development goals and take your career to the next level.

    View Certifications
  2. Apply or enroll in training required for your program

    Once you have determined your certification program, find a training course offering that fits into your schedule.

    ISACA offers courses around the world.

    View Training
  3. Receive and maintain your Certification

    Congratulations! You are a CMMI Certified Individual.

    Don’t forget to maintain this high level of competency and skills by adhering to the renewal policies.

    View Recertification
  CMMI Recommends  

CMMI Associate

Learn the value of CMMI and how to put the model to work for you!

Demonstrate to employers your knowledge of the global standard of process improvement.


CMMI Partner Sponsored Individual

Demonstrate dedication to continuous process improvement.

Contact ISACA to talk to a representative about all of the options for expert certifications.

Learn More Learn More Learn More

Maintaining a Certification

Each CMMI Certification has a three year validity period. At the end of a Certification’s validity period, the Certification is no longer valid. Follow the steps to maintain your unique Certification.

  • How to maintain a CMMI Associate Certification.

    Certified CMMI Associates must retake the certification exam every three years to ensure that they are educated on the latest CMMI best practices and models. Please refer to the CMMI Associate Policy for further details.

  • How to maintain a CMMI Professional Certification.

    Once certified, Certified CMMI Professionals must keep their knowledge and skills current by participating in a variety of professional development activities. 

    Over the course of three years, you must earn 50 Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credits by completing professional development activities. Please refer to the CMMI Professional Policy for further details.

  • How to maintain a CMMI Instructor Certification.

    Certification as CMMI Instructor includes a commitment to ongoing professional development to maintain a high proficiency and skill in the practice. 

    All CMMI Instructor certifications are valid for three years. Please review the Renewal Requirements for CMMI Instructors that lists the ongoing professional development activities that are required to maintain the certification.  

  • How to maintain a CMMI Lead Appraiser Certification.

    Certification as a Lead Appraiser includes a commitment to ongoing professional development to maintain a high level of proficiency in the practice.

    Please review the Renewal Requirements for Lead Appraiser for ongoing professional development activities that are required to maintain the certification.

Searching for a Certified Individual?

CMMI Certified Individuals have earned this high honor by successfully demonstrating a specific set of competency and skills. Search the Partner Directory to find any Certified Individual.

Find a Certified Individual